A1c sads.

I have the sads.

I’ve been trying really hard to get my A1c down to a “Conception happy” range (6.0-7.0 or lower).  This has been my focus for the past 6 months or so and until now I’ve been making slow, but steady, progress.  *HIGH FIVE* to me!  “It’s a marathon, not a sprint”, “Slow and steady wins the race”, all that fun stuff, right?

In June of last year I started with a new doctor and an A1c of 8.7, by September it had dropped to 8.2, and I started the year off in January with a 7.8.  Go team!  I was especially happy with that January number as I got married and subsequently ate my face off on our honeymoon.  Whoops.  Honeymoons happen.  I’ve also been on a “Pump Vacation” for the past 8 months, and until today it seemed to be helping my number.

Today’s A1c…7.9.  :sadface:  Doc and I discussed and he’s happy that I’m steady, but we both agree that I need to be steady at about 6.9.  A few tweaks were made to my insulin to carb ratios – yay more math brain exercises for me!  (All diabetics should be handed an honorary math degree on date of diagnosis, don’t you agree?).  Doc and I feel that with my new CGM and going back on the pump in a few weeks, my next appointment will be happy once again.

If only every day could be like today:

20130422-124116.jpg

How you like me now, A1c?

Until I reach that elusive 6.5-ish, I will remember:

“Every Strike brings me closer to the next home run”.

I’m gonna hit this puppy outta the park.

6 thoughts on “A1c sads.

  1. Hi there, linked to your blog off a comment you made. I’m really glad you’ve started a blog with this type of focus. I’m turning 30 in 5 days and getting married next February. I’m already trying to get my A1c below 7% in preparation for pregnancy. I was at 7% 4 months ago and then when I just retested two weeks ago was up at 7.4%, so that was somewhat disappointing, but I know I’ll get there! Thanks for sharing your experiences as you attempt the same thing.

  2. If it’s any consolation, my a1c dropped from 8.9% to 6.9% with in 6 months after starting Dex and has remained stable in the 6.2-6.8 range for 4 years. There are good things in store for you! Good luck!

    • Thanks Tammy! I’m a work in progress! I’ve been seeing great numbers with my Dexcom and hope they get even better when I get my Ping (In a week!)! Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. After reading your posts, I really do believe that you can do it! Your nearly there. Keep up the good work, keep your head up and stay positive. Before I had my son my HbA1c was also 7.9%. I became a bit insulin resistant and at that time I was on 5 injections a day. My Animas pump came just at the right time. I managed to get my HbA1c down to 7.0% by which point I found out I was pregnant. But during my pregnancy I managed to get it down to 6.4%. My pregnancy went well , baby boy grew at a good rate and I was extremely fortunate to be able to have a natural birth.
    How are you finding the Ping?

    • Thank you! I think planning for pregnancy so far in advance will do nothing but benefit myself and future tiny human.

      I start on the Ping tomorrow, I’ll be sure to blog about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

