A love letter for my Endo’s office…

I am currently on a pump-cation.  (Got hitched, sick of being a cyborg, it’s ‘spensive).  I’ve been enjoying this pump-cation for about 8 months now.  However, since the Hubs and I want to create a small human, it’s time to get back on the pump.  I’ve decided to make the switch from Minimed to Animas as I’m a new Dexcom user and Dexcom and Animas are BFFs.

BFFs

Well, my Ping (I say this in my head like “BING!!” from “Friends”.  Oh how I miss that show.) is due to arrive today!  Yay!

However, my appointment to see the Certified Diabetes Educator to train me on my new pump is not until June 28th.  That’s, like, a million years from now.

So what does any pushy patient do?  I emailed my Endo and her PA asking for my last basal rates so I could get started pumping right away as I don’t want to wait 8 weeks to resume pump therapy.  I am so excited to see what results the Dexcom/Animas Best Friends Forever-ship brings me.

But, as well all know with diabetes, nothing is ever easy.  Doc responds to my email and does not give me my basal rates and says she wants me to wait until my appointment in June.

grumpy cat

I don’t think so.  So I call and complain and some how, magically, they are able to offer me not one, but TWO options for appointments this Monday.  Imagine that?!  So my homework for the weekend is to read over the manual and get intimate with my new Ping so I am fully prepared for my appointment on monday.  I’m mostly excited, with a teeny, tiny amount of sadness that I’ll now be attached to a pump again.  But, a wanna-be Mommy’s gotta do what a wanna-be Mommy’s gotta do.  Right?

However, I do wonder if the Endo’s office had these two appointments all along and it took me being a squeaky diabetic to get in sooner.  Squeaky D gets the new Pump?  Just goes to show that it can’t hurt to ask and those of us with chronic illnesses have to be our own advocates for our healthcare.

Also, side note.  I still need to figure out what to do for a pump case for working out.  I used to have a nice case that had a clip and zipped around the pump to wear while I worked out.  It was great because it didn’t bounce around (I wear compression capris so it holds firmly when clipped towards the inside), didn’t annoy me by riding up as I imagine one of the waist pouches/spi belt things would, and the fabric zipped around the entire pump protected it from moisture (I killed 2 pumps by sweating on them.  D’oops).  Of course, my awesome case is lost and it doesn’t appear to still be offered by Minimed.  Le Sighe.  What do you use for working out?

 

3 thoughts on “A love letter for my Endo’s office…

  1. Hi… love the blog! You might want to look up Tallygear (http://www.tallygear.com/). They’ve got cases for both your pump and your Dexcom. I don’t use a case for working out… I just clip my pump on the back of my shorts (it doesn’t seem to move around as much there). Thanks!

    • Thanks so much for the tip, Stephen! I’ll be sure to check out that website. I typically just put my Dex in my glove bag (I box/kickbox) which I keep near me as I work out and so far it’s been perfect. I’m able to check my level during water breaks and I don’t have to deal with it bouncing or anything. But I will have to find something for my pump! I’ll check out tallygear!

Leave a Reply

