Is it time to say goodbye to coffee?

I love coffee.  Coffee, however, does not seem to love me.  I have noticed in the 2 and a half weeks that I’ve been wearing my Dexcom that I seem to have a very high blood sugar spike after breakfast.  Despite taking my BG, Insulin to Carb ratio, and Insulin Sensitivity factor into account when I bolus, I am always spiking about 2-3 hours after breakfast, which I eat around 7:30 am.  Breakfast is usually a bowl of cereal (measured, 1 cup of multi grain Cheerios or corn flakes) and skim milk (3/4 cup), and my to-go coffee with flavored creamer (3 Tbs  – hey I drink a BIG cup!).  I usually drink my coffee over the course of 2 hours, finishing it around 9:30 am.  My blood sugar spikes seem to hit between 9:30 and 10:30 am.  However without taking a correction dose, I’m almost always back in normal range by lunchtime.  Take this morning for example:

  • Woke up with BG of 204
  • My new Ping told me to take 6.6 units for my BG, amount of carbs I was consuming, and correction factor.  My CDE wants me to do what the Ping says for the next few days as we figure out my basal rates and fine tune my Insulin:Carb ratio.
  • I spiked at about 9:30 am with a BG of 320.  Blech.  However, on the direction of my CDE, I did not take a correction dose and am now coming down, about 45 minutes before lunch.
20130507-105950.jpg

Who wants to go skiing on that peak?

 

This leads me to wonder if I need a different Insulin:Carb ratio or a higher basal rate.  Or, dare I say it, I should knock it off with the coffee.  I have read on the interwebs that caffeine can cause blood sugars to rise by blocking insulin or something medical like that.  But, it’s my coffeeeeee.  What is worse?  Blood sugar spike or crazy, cranky, half-asleep Laura?  My coworkers probably have a different answer than I do.

My thoughts are that perhaps I should increase my basal in the mornings to account for my coffee.  Or maybe set a square bolus (Or a “Combo Bolus” in Ping-speak) to account for my 2 hour long coffee drinkage.  Or change my Insulin:Carb ratio for breakfast so my bolus is higher, although this concerns me that I will drop by lunchtime.  Maybe next week I will try sugar-free creamer to see if that helps.  Perhaps all the sugars in the creamer are hitting me in a different way than other carbs?  Maybe I need a higher protein, lower carb breakfast in general?  Who wants to be my personal omelette chef?

I really don’t want to have to surrender my coffee to the D.  It’s warm.  It’s tasty.  It wakes me up and it makes me (and my coworkers) happy.

37606987

This diabetes stuff is a tricky thing.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Is it time to say goodbye to coffee?

  1. I like the picture! Haha. I have noticed that the coffee usually sends me spiking the same way. I’m with you though, I would hate to have to give that up, so I just adjusted my insulin intake. It’s worked for me so far. 🙂 Good luck.

  2. Probably not what you want to hear, but I gave up cereal and milk and that made a huge difference with post-breakfast spikes. I now only eat English muffins w/peanut butter or eggs/turkey sausage if I wake up higher than 130. I also only use plain half ‘n half creamer (1 Tbsp = 1 carb) and still do about a .5 unit to cover the coffee spike. I’d suggest giving up the flavored, sugared creamers, if that’s what you’re using and go to something with less carbs in the creamer.

    • *cries* I love my cereal almost as much as I love my coffee. But maybe next week I’ll try english muffins with PB along with plain old half and half. Not as much fun, but if it’s better for me then I suppose I should be a big girl and make the change.

  3. I had the same issue and found tht switching to sugar-free hazelnut & sugar-free french vanilla w 0.5u per 12oz size (I love the BIG cups!) worked great for me! I have to have coffee like I have to have insulin….I just can’t do it without! 🙂 Good luck!

    • I agree, can’t do without! I’ll figure something out. Just want to know why the huge spike after breakfast when I bolus for what I’m eating and my BG. My post lunch and dinner spikes are not nearly as high.

  4. What happens if you skip the coffee? It’s a tough pill to swallow I know, but just for one day…I’m wondering if the problem is the coffee or something else. Multi-grain Cheerios, by the way, are not the healthiest variety despite the name – they’re loaded with spike-causing sugar. I tend to stick with the regular yellow-box Cheerios.

    You might want to consider a Superbolus (I’ve been promoting this a lot lately, but not as advice because of all that nonsense about me not being a doctor and not qualified to dispense advice). Try adding an hour’s worth of basal to your breakfast bolus, then suspend the basal (temporary rate of zero) for an hour. It’s like getting an advance on your basal which should smooth the spike, but ultimately the same amount of insulin so your BG end-point should be the same regardless. I do it all the time for breakfast, especially if I wake up high.

    • Interesting thought, Scott. I think I’ll try the super bolus tomorrow.

      I have some SF creamer in my fridge, so that’s my first step. I think next weekend I’ll make some egg muffin cup things for breakfast to further reduce the carbs.

Leave a Reply

