Ping!

I wanted to write this blog earlier this week, but I’ve actually (gasp!) been fairly busy at work.  What the what?!  Today is my 4th full day on the Ping.  So far, so good.  I had my appointment with my CDE on Monday afternoon and we set up my basals to be much lower than they were previously on the Paradigm.  When on the Paradigm, I seemed to go low if I didn’t eat and as someone who’s trying to shed a few lbs, this is no bueno.  Right now I’m on the following basal rates:

Midnight – 8:00 am – 1.0 Unit Per Hour
8:00 am – Midnight – 1.2 Unit Per Hour

Very complicated and complex, right?  For those non-Diabetics who may read my blog, the basal rate is the continuous stream of insulin my pump is programmed to give me.

My bolus rates are dependent on my Insulin to Carb ratios, Blood Glucose, Insulin on Board, and Insulin sensitivity factor.  Learning Time!  (I will quiz you later)

  • Insulin to Carb Ratios: Number of units of insulin I need for X number of grams of carbs I’m eating.  Mine are 1 unit per 12 grams of carbs for breakfast and lunch, and 1 unit for 10 grams of carbs for dinner.
  • Blood Glucose: Amount of Glucose (Sugar) present in my blood.  Vampires dig it.
  • Insulin on Board: The amount of insulin still present in my bloodstream based on my last bolus and current basal rate.  The pump figures this out.  It is much smarter than me.
  • Insulin Sensitivity Factor: This is the amount your blood glucose is lowered by 1 unit of insulin.  Mine is currently set to 40.

So far with these settings I think my readings are OK but there is definite room for improvement.  I’d like to be in the green as much as possible.

DailyTrends

Seeing as the spikes are generally post meal, I imagine my Insulin to Carb Ratios will change.  Especially after breakfast because coffee seems to hate me  but that is to be determined by my CDE, hopefully by the end of the day!  I’m excited to get tighter and tighter control.

Even though it’s been a while since I’ve pumped, I have noticed some things about the Ping that are different from the Minimed Paradigm:

  • There is a lot more button pushing.  You have to dial in your blood sugar as it doesn’t automatically display on the pump like it did with Minimed’s (MM) equipment.  I think this is a copyright issue with Medtronic a safety feature.  Not a huge deal but something to get used to.  I like bolusing right from my pump, but maybe I’ll have to train myself to bolus from the meter remote so I can skip the step of having to input my BG.  Those extra 10 seconds at every meal add up!  (Sarcasm)
  • Filling the Reservoir is more cumbersome.  The transfer guard that MM has is pretty slick.  Again, not a big deal just takes a few more minutes when I’m changing my site.
  • The infusion/insert seems to be smaller.  I like this.  I am using the 9mm Insert.  I was using the Silhouette with MM.  The size difference may very well be due to the fact that I’m now using a straight set rather than an angled, but so far I like it.  It makes me more eager to try different sites.
  • The all-in-one inserter has its pros and cons.  I’ve only done one site change without the watchful eye of my CDE so I am sure that it will get easier as I get used to it.  It seems a little more awkward than the MM, but at the same time I like that it’s all-in-one.  Makes travelling easier and I always would lose those inserters that MM provided.  MM does have the Mio which looks comparable to the Insert, but I have no experience in using it.
  • The display and menus are different.  This is just something that takes getting used to.
  • It’s so pretty.  Really.  The Animas Ping is just prettier than the Paradigm, in my opinion.  I love the silver.

So this is my review of the first few days.  I continue to be a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

