We, the undersigned…

dblogweekDiabetes blog week, Day 2.

Recently various petitions have been circulating the Diabetes Online Community, so today let’s pretend to write our own. Tell us who you would write the petition to – a person, an organization, even an object (animate or inanimate) – get creative!! What are you trying to change and what have you experienced that makes you want this change?

Dear Carbohydrates,

I, the undersigned, hereby request that you stop tasting so darn good.  Upon my years of diabetic research, I have determined that you, carbohydrates, are the reason why I am not the perfect diabetic.  You make my blood sugar go up and don’t help my A1c come down.  I have concluded that this is because you taste delicious.  Sweets, pasta, nachos, breads, potatoes…please heed my petition and stop tasting so wonderful.  I blame the sensory pleasure you provide to my taste buds for blood sugar readings that spike into the 200s (or higher) despite my feeble attempts to counteract with insulin.  And why, carbohydrates, must you so often be paired with alcohol?  Pasta and wine, Nachos and beer…please, please, stop with the yumminess!

I am a reasonable woman.  I am fully aware that I could just say no when you end up on my plate, but I have never met one of you whom I didn’t like.  I am weak.  You’re just too appetizing.  I implore you to start tasting like something disgusting…let’s say liver…so that I can better manage my diabetes.

I thank you in advance for your cooperation in this matter.

Regards,
A1-Conceive.

12 thoughts on “We, the undersigned…

Leave a Reply

