Memories, sweetened through the ages just like wine…

Diabetes Blog Week, Day 3.dblogweek

Today we’re going to share our most memorable diabetes day. You can take this anywhere…. your or your loved one’s diagnosis, a bad low, a bad high, a big success, any day that you’d like to share.

I would be willing to bet that most people feel that their most memorable diabetes day is the day they were diagnosed.  At least for me, that was absolutely the most significant day in my diabetes life.  But, I won’t bore you with the details because you can read about it already.

I would like to share a more recent memorable “diabetes day”, and that is my wedding day.  The Hubs and I have been married for almost 7 months now and leading up to the wedding I was pretty nervous about how my diabetes would behave.  It always seems to be naughty at the worst times.  Seriously, it’s like a toddler throwing a tantrum in church.  I had a horrible fear that I’d have a low or high blood sugar during the ceremony or toasts at the reception, or that my diabetes would be a major focus of the evening and I wouldn’t be able to relax and enjoy myself.  I really didn’t want this, all I wanted was to be a “normal bride”, enjoying her wedding day and being surrounded by her favorite people.

To accomplish this normalcy, I decided to go off the pump a few months before the wedding.  I figured it’d be easier to just take injections rather than figuring out where I was going to put my pump on my dress (although I had a little bit lot of poof to work with!), and plus when you’re unattached, you can almost forget about diabetes.  I didn’t want to have to think about it any more than the bare minimum on my wedding day.  I wanted to focus on my new husband, my friends and family, and the dance floor!  (OK, and a glass or two of wine as well.  Oh, and the CAKE!)

531010_4616795428776_990951673_n

You wanna fight, diabetes??
(Note. There were no fights at my wedding. However, there was one kick-ass dance off, pictured above).

Mission accomplished.  My sugars were great throughout my wedding day, despite having a horrible cold and a case of nerves.  I tested when needed but wasn’t consumed by it and honestly can’t even remember when I tested (but I know I did, in case you’re reading this my wonderful doctor).  Although this wasn’t a dramatically memorable “diabetes” day, it was absolutely memorable in the sense that I had an uneventful wedding in the diabetes aspect.  I managed my disease and did not allow it to detract from my day.  It was pretty eventful otherwise, because, you know, I got to marry my best buddy.  Even on the best days of our lives, diabetes is still around.  But it doesn’t have to be the memory we take away from these days.

522861_10151483958299167_92341178_n (1)

5 thoughts on “Memories, sweetened through the ages just like wine…

  1. Great wedding day story! Glad D didn’t get in the way and you could enjoy the whole experience, including the kick-off dance-off, without any interference. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. Great post. I love the ending the best when you say that diabetes will always be there but it doesn’t have to be THE memory. Manage your diabetes but still live your life so you can remember life and not just the rigors of diabetes.

  3. That’s awesome your numbers were under control. I got married two years ago and my blood sugars ran high but I didn’t mind because I’m more comfortable high than low. I had some poof too so I could hide my pump pretty easily.

  4. Yay! I’m so glad you had a great diabetes issues free. I was on MDI for my wedding as well although it was waaay before I went on the pump. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

