Freaky Friday!

Diabetes Blog Week, Day 5.dblogweek

Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

I am selfish – I don’t know much about other chronic diseases.  I have friends who suffer from Crohn’s Disease, Asthma, Celiacs, Allergies.  I’d love to trade places with them to see the struggles they deal with on a daily basis so I can better understand and be a more supportive friend.

However, in answer to this prompt, I would like to temporarily trade places with someone who is paralyzed.  I believe this would help me appreciate the amazing things that my body can do and to serve as a reminder that even though I may be tired, may be feeling lazy, and just may not be in the mood to exercise, I am lucky to have this body and lucky that other than a dead pancreas, it’s functioning and functioning well.  I need to celebrate this with more movement!

2 thoughts on “Freaky Friday!

    • Thanks Melissa! I really couldn’t think of any disease I’d trade diabetes in for – it’d be like saying “that disease is soooo much better than the D”, when in reality, every chronic condition sucks, no matter how much it impacts our daily lives.

Leave a Reply

