It’s a pager…it’s a cell phone…it’s a…camera?

Last night the Hubs and I were out purchasing me some golf clubs (Because, you know, I golf every weekend.  *Note – I’ve never been golfing, but it looks fun and I had a gift card.)  We were chatting with the sales dude and he notices my pump, which was clipped to the pocket of my jeans, facing out.  He asks, “Is that…ohhh, is that a camera?”.  I’ve heard pager and cell phone, but never a camera!  I just said, “Oh, no, it’s my insulin pump.”  He replies “Ohhhhh, looks like a camera!” Maybe he thought I was a super techy secret shopper? I responded “Nope, just my pancreas.”

The Hubs said I made the guy feel bad, but I was just trying to be my sarcastic self.  How do you respond when people ask you what your pump is or mistake it for something else?

5 thoughts on “It’s a pager…it’s a cell phone…it’s a…camera?

  1. Never heard that one before! Maybe he thought you were with a TV show doing some sort of undercover reporting — and videotaping everything from hip level.

    When people ask me if it’s a pager, I just say it’s an insulin pump and that’s it. I leave it to them to decide if they want to ask follow-up questions and get into the whole discussion.

    (By the way, I’ve never played golf either, but when I moved into my house 2 1/2 years ago, there was a set of golf clubs left in the garage by the previous owner. Other than moving it from one wall to another, I’ve never touched them, but often say that someday I will)

  2. LOL @ Camera! I usually get, “Is that a pager? Oh I didn’t know those still existed!” My response usually is, No it’s an insulin pump.I’m diabetic. That’s usually the end of it, but sometimes I’m bombarded by questions.

  3. I’m the same way. Someone at work noticed it for the first time last week and asked me if I had gone back into the 90s and came back with a pager. I know I said something sarcastic, and then told them out was my insulin pump. I try to be light about it, joking and sarcastic so people don’t get all serious and act like its the end of the world. Because its not, it keeps my world going. 🙂

  4. I don’t mind answering questions and I wasn’t annoyed by this guy, was just trying to make a funny. Hopefully I didn’t make him feel bad! Although he did price match the golf clubs with another store, sooooo…

  5. Haha. A camera? That’s silly. I don’t personally have a pump but a friend of mine did and she would get asked if it was a pager. Her reply was always, “Nope, I’m just a cyborg” Haha. They would just give her some crazy look and then walk away.

Leave a Reply

