The Weight of it All – Week 1.

After a week of watching what I ate, maintaining a reasonable calorie range, making an effort to be more active (4 boxing classes!), I….drumroll please….stayed the same.  Actually, if you want to get technical about it, I gained .2 going from 202.4 to 202.6.  Le sighe.

I don’t really know what happened, mathematically I should be down.  Although I was unable to stick to my 1300 calorie goal on non-exercise days and 1600 calorie goal on days I did workout, I feel that I did pretty well.  I weighed and measured everything and put every morsel of food that went into my mouth in my food journal.  My only real “slip ups” were a beer and Kiddie Meal at the movies, both of which I accounted for in my food journal.  Wah.

CalsConsumed0604calsburned0604

These graphs don’t show last Tuesday when I started this journey, but on that day I consumed 1,695 calories and burned 890 in boxing class. (Have I mentioned how much I love my class?!  Cuz I do.  So happy I found this gym!)

It is not my special lady time, I am not sick, so why did I not lose 8 pounds this week?!  (I’m kidding, I know a reasonable rate is .5-2 pounds/week).  I did have a few low blood sugars which meant extra calories consumed, but I tracked them and they did not totally kill my days.  At one point this week I was down to 201.2, so I thought I was on track to have a nice loss.  Yes, I’m an every day weigher-in-er.  I do realize how much this can mess with your head, as you can see.

I am trying to keep my frustration at bay and just keep pushing forward.  Back in the day when I was on Weight Watchers, I remember how sometimes it would seem like my body was a week behind.  If I had a great week, I would stay the same, then follow that great week with a not-so-great week, and I’d lose.  Seemed my body would be on a delay.  So hopefully next week I’ll see some downward movement on the scale reflecting this past week’s hard work.

Goals for this week:

  • Keep the carbs to a minimum.
  • Eat more fruits and veggies, especially as snacks.
  • NO Lean Cuisines (I am way too dependent on these things).
  • Get to at least 3 boxing classes.

If anyone would like to follow me on My Fitness Pal, shoot me an email @ a1conceive@gmail.com and I’ll give you my user name.  I am always open to suggestions about my menu and food choices.

Here’s to a good week and remembering to be patient with myself!

motivation2

9 thoughts on “The Weight of it All – Week 1.

  1. You will absolutely see the numbers come down, I promise. And as a fellow daily weigher, I completely understand the frustration of it all. I will say that salt is one of my total killers. I had a cup of broth one night and gained two pounds overnight! Cutting back on the lean cuisine might help reduce some of the sodium that could be keeping the scale from moving.

  2. I think you probably gained some muscle mass and muscle is heavier than fat right.? It also means your getting toned and leaner. How much water do you consume in a day? Think positively your going in the right direction. Next weeks weigh in will be lower numbers. Stay focused, keep your motivation, you’re doing a great job!

    • Thanks! I drink at least 64oz of water/day. Usually more! I feel smaller – I took my measurements on 5/1, I need to re-take them and see if I’ve lost inches. Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. First: Be good to yourself. (I’m not talking a food reward, but emotionally and mentally.) Making a lifestyle change is hard. Obsessing with charts and graphs and weighing every day is hard. Second: I do know that there is the “starvation mode” that a body tends to fight when you eat less. The body wants to hold on to every.single.calorie. Third: Rome wasn’t built in a day. You didn’t gain all the weight in a week. Don’t expect it all to come off too quickly. (This is coming from the queen of “why isn’t this happening now!?!”, so take it with a grain of salt.) Fourth: One of the things I became addicted to was a veggie puree soup when I was hungry all the time. Filling, good for you, low carbs, etc. I’m going to see if I can find the recipe and send it…
    Keep your chin up! You’re doing fine!

Leave a Reply

