A Day in the Life, My #DayofDiabetes

Wow.  I don’t think I could have picked a worse day for my Twitter #DayofDiabetes.  Typically, my blood sugars behave fairly well.  Sure, I’ll have some ups and downs, but last Wednesday was a day full of all ups and all downs.  There was no stability at all.  I am quite embarrassed that this was the day I chose to share on Twitter, however, it just goes to show that Diabetes really will sometimes do what it wants despite our best efforts.

Overnight leading in to my day, I had a blood sugar of 43.  This is pretty low and even though I usually wake up on my own from my lows, it wasn’t until my Dexcom alarmed that I woke up.  I have no idea how long it was alarming for, but I sure am glad for that little device.

In typical overnight-low-blood-sugar fashion, I treated it with everything that could fit into my mouth (cereal, and more cereal, oh, and why not, some more cereal!).  Why is it so hard to stick to the 15-15-15 rule (Consume 15 grams of carbohydrates, wait 15 minutes, and your BG should come up 15) when you’re low, specifically when these lows are overnight and you also have half-asleep grogginess to contend with?  After I started to recover from my low, I even had the sense to give myself a small bolus because I knew that after eating the entire box a large bowl (or two) of corn flakes, I was bound to go high and honestly, I didn’t want to have to listen to my Dexcom beeping all night.  And I didn’t want to wake up with a high blood sugar in the morning.

In the morning, I learned that my plan failed:

wakeuptweet

Decided to wait on eating breakfast (except for coffee.  Gotta have my coffee) and gave myself a bolus to bring my sugar down and cover the sugar-free creamer in my coffee.  As I usually level out by noon with these “over correction” highs, I still packed my gym bag in anticipation that I’d be going to boxing that evening.
AMbolustweet
After a couple of hours, my blood sugar still hadn’t come down so I gave myself a mini-bolus of 1.05U to try to get it to come down before lunch.  I always get nervous about stacking my insulin like that but it was being so super stubborn!
tweet2
Back to our regularly scheduled programming of working, despite feeling icky from the extended high blood sugar.  A couple of hours later, my sugar had slightly come down.  Time to bolus for lunch!
tweetlunch
Lunch wasn’t exactly the best and I broke my “No Lean Cuisines” goal for this week but sometimes you’re just rushing in the morning and don’t have time to make something.  And dealing with the “low, then high” hangover in the mornings doesn’t exactly make you feel energized and ready to take on the day.  Despite my not so hot Diabetes Day, I still was committed to entering my food into My Fitness Pal.  Yay for persistence?
mfp
I had hoped that after lunch, my blood sugar would come down.  Nope.
afterlunch
😦 But, with diabetes you must have a sense of humor!
390
One of the best things about the Diabetes Online Community is the sense of support you get from people who “get it”.
worldsworst
friend
friend2
Thanks for the support, ladies!  I needed it that day.  Badly.
Finally, after a few hours, my blood sugar came down.  Although not far enough and I made the decision to skip (Sky?) the gym.
skipgym
At the suggestion of another twitter friend, I did a 200% basal rate for the remainder of the afternoon.  Finally, when I got home from work it appeared that my blood sugar decided it wanted to play nicely.
falling
Or maybe not.
crashlandingI had dinner (turkey sausage, steamed squash and zucchini, egg noodles – yum!) and my blood sugar returned to normal.
tempelevation
For a few minutes, at least.
bg59
Hey, at least I got to eat dessert guilt free, right?  I was happy that evening was the weekly Diabetes Social Media Advocacy Twitter Chat.  I’m so happy that I discovered this weekly chat, and although sometimes it is hard to keep up for this newbie Twitter-er, it’s a great weekly event that I’ve enjoyed tremendously!  That night it was an open chat (usually the administrators ask 5 questions that we all answer) and I enjoyed getting to know some of my DOC friends better.  It also distracted me from my icky day.
DSMA
Finally, it was time for bed.  I was exhausted after the many ups and downs of my day of diabetes.  *yawn*
goodnight
What a day!
dayofdiabetes


Things I learned from my Day of Diabetes…

  • Diabetes never behaves how you want it to.  I had hoped that my Day of Diabetes would be one of those perfect days where my post meal spikes were below 180 and I stayed right around 110 all day.  Sadly, that didn’t happen.
  • BUT my day did reflect the frustrations that come with Diabetes.  Every day is different.  You can do the same exact thing 2 days in a row and get different results.  The key with dealing with it is to be patient and remember that tomorrow is a new day.
  • The Diabetes Online Community is great.  The support received from other people with diabetes is immeasurable.
  • Temporary basal rates are our friend.  I tend to always have a knee-jerk reaction to highs and bolus, bolus, bolus when I really need to use temporary basal rates so I don’t have those horrible crash landings.
  • If I always tweeted every Diabetes-related action or thought, I’d probably have zero twitter friends.  🙂
  • Every day is a day of diabetes.  And every day is a chance to learn something new about the disease and yourself.
9 thoughts on “A Day in the Life, My #DayofDiabetes

  1. It does always seem to be a rollercoaster doesn’t it? I know I can never seem to come down from an extended period of highs and get to a “good” BG. I always tend to crash. I seem to be having a lot of days lately that are mirroring yours. Always a fun time in the life of diabetes right?

  2. What a day! Some of the other participants in the Day of Diabetes tweets had extra good days. Your day is proof that sometimes Type 1 is really hard.

  3. Thanks for participating. And as much as the day sucked, pancreatically speaking, I think the shenanigans you experienced painted a perfect picture of what every day can be like for us. Again, thanks for taking the time to share your story.

Leave a Reply

