Endo Appointment Round Up

Today I had an appointment with my Endo’s Physician’s Assistant.  Honestly, I kinda like him more than my endo (although she’s pretty awesome too!).  He’s young, very thorough, and never seems rushed.  In fact, he spent an hour with me today, which is just unheard of.  Unfortunately I wasn’t due for an A1c test (WAH!) as I had one within the last 3 months.  Kind of a bummer because I wanted to see how my new cyborg life has affected things.  But, I go back in August so I don’t have to wait too long.

We made some adjustments to my evening basal rate so my rates are now:

12 MN – 1.0
8 am – 1.2
2 pm – 1.0
8 pm – 1.6

Insulin to Carb ratios stayed the same:
12 MN – 1:15
7 am – 1:10
11:30 am – 1:9
5:30 pm – 1:9
9:30 pm – 1:15

Insulin sensitivity factor remains at 40 with my goal BG remaining at 120 +/- 10.

So, all in all, decent appointment.  I had emailed my CDE my CGM and Animas reports yesterday and told her about my nephew and that may account for some of the wonky sugars I’ve had over the past week or so.  She asked me when my appointment was and came over today to give me a hug and chat for a few minutes.  So nice.  I am really liking Duke!  My CDE and I have been in pretty close contact since I re-started pumping, I cannot say enough good things about her.  She’s awesome.

I had the PA write me a script for AccuChek test strips and he gave me a present of a shiny new AccuChek Nano.  I’m going to be calling my insurance company to determine exactly what I need to do to get my strips for free now that all of my out-of-pocket expenses have been met.  Hopefully what they told me last month about Accuchek strips being covered 100% is true.  And I have a good supply of one touch strips so should I ever need to use that meter for remote bolusing, I can.

On a personal note, I am muddling through with everything.  Staying busy helps.  My friends and coworkers have been so kind to me and I’m very happy that my sister and her family have such a strong community of friends supporting them.   

2 thoughts on “Endo Appointment Round Up

  1. Aww sounds like a nice visit and your endo and PA sound great! Glad to hear you are hanging in there ok, I know it must be a tough time but it’s nice to hear your family has such a good support group.

Leave a Reply

