My CDE is my BFF.

I had an appointment with my CDE on Friday and let me just say she is quickly becoming my new BFF of my Diabetes Team.  Like, I want to make her a friendship bracelet, ’90s summer camp style.

friendshipbracelet

I was never able to master the swirly ones!
Image from the Google.

Her awesomeness does not only stem from her coming to my Endo/PA appointment last week and giving me a hug, but she has been instrumental with determining my pump rates over the past 2 months since I’ve resumed cyborg living.  I’ve emailed her reports almost weekly and we make tweeks as needed to get me where I need to be to grow a human.  She is also totally relate-able and “gets it” as a PWD.  She makes me laugh and is super supportive when I’m annoyed with myself for not being a perfect diabetic.  I know I totally sound like I have a girl crush (my girl crushes are Megan Hilty and Jessica Simpson, TYVM), but I’d say it’s safe to say I have a definite favorite on my Diabetes Team.  Don’t tell my PA or Endo.  I know I’m supposed to love them all equally, and they can believe that I do, lest I’ll be subject to more finger pricks when I’m in the office.  (Seriously, am I the only one who hates when other people prick my finger?)

So, the appointment.  My graphs look goooood.  She pulled up some of my old graphs and the change in just a couple of months is remarkable.  Definitely happy that I’m back on the pump even after having the pump-cation blues.  For the first time since starting this “get body ready for baby” journey, I feel like I can actually do this.  It’s a good feeling friends.  And it’s motivating me to keep on trying my best to get myself in the best D-shape possible before growing our future little one.

We She noticed some patterns that we are working to correct.  I tend to go higher and stay higher with meals that are more than 60 grams of carbs.  So that means that I will try to limit my meals to less than that amount of carbs.  Easy peasy, mostly.  But if I do have the weekly occasional bowl of spaghetti, I’ll bolus as usual but try a temp basal of +20-40ish%, (depending on pre-meal BG) for 60-120 miutes post meal.  Trial and error.

Another trend is that I tend to stay higher throughout the morning if I eat breakfast earlier in the day.  So we changed my I:C ratio from 1:10 to 1:9 before 9 am and 1:10 after 9am (weekends).  I would’ve never noticed this – so happy for her trained eyes to see!

I do awesome overnight.  I average 147 from 11pm – 7am.  Good-ish number.  Would like it to be a smidge lower, but the thing I am most pleased with is that my overnight lines are typically pretty steady.  No real drops or jumps.  Sweet dreams for me.  This means naptime at work, no?  I have been pretty pro-active with setting temp basals at night when I go to bed on the higher end.  And I swear, it has nothing to do with me not wanting to hear my Dexcom all night.  It has everything to do with wanting to be all I can be with the D.  Or something.

We also changed my I:C ratio for dinner from 1:9 to 1:8.  My CDE was a little reluctant to do this because sometimes after dinner my numbers are great, however, I want them to be great most, if not all, of the time.  So I figure it’s worth a shot.

The best part of the appointment however was when she said that by looking at my graphs, she thinks my A1c is/will be very close to 7 if I keep this up.  This certainly motivates me to keep fighting the good fight.  High Five!

I kinda want to take her out for a beer.

One thought on “My CDE is my BFF.

  1. I feel the same way about my CDE, and I think mine relates better than my other docs because she is a PWD and gets it. I hate having someone else prick my finger too, it does hurt more. Weird how that works isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

