Giving diabetes the Stink Eye

I’m annoyed with diabetes today.  Usually I try to let the day-to-day annoyances of the managing the D roll off my back and not get me down.  I try to have an attitude of “it is what it is, deal with it and move on”.  I think if I dwelled on how huge a pain in the ass Diabetes really is, I’d probably be pretty miserable to be around.  Pity party of one.  That being said, I am human and of course I have my days where I just want to throw my hands up and scream at the top of my lungs “This crap really, really sucks!”.

It started last night.  The husband and I were going to have some, ahem, fun-adult-married-couple-time together.  Before going to our chamber of love, I glanced at my Dexcom and saw 92 with a single down arrow.  So I downed half a glass of juice to prevent a low.  Of course, this didn’t work.  A little while later at quite an inopportune time, my Dexcom started yelling at me that I was low.  I felt OK so I ignored it.  A few minutes later the low started to hit me so I had to tell the husband we had to hit the pause button so I could test.  53.  Yay.  More juice for me.  We waited and pillow talked and I didn’t feel like I was coming up so after a bit the plug was pulled on our fun adult time.  The mood was pretty much killed then anyway.  Thanks diabetes, for the unexpected and unwanted threesome.  Grrrr.

Of course after this longer than usual low episode, I over-corrected so my Dexcom was yelling at me all night for being high.  So in my half asleep-ness, I bolused and set up a temp basal and, you guessed it, woke up low this morning.  Needless to say, I was especially slow getting moving this monday morning.

I am also having one of those days where the presence of my gizmos and gadgets is annoying me.

So yeah, I’m cranky pants.  I wish we could just take a day off from diabetes.  I know tomorrow will be a better day, but for today, you get the stink eye from me, D.

Not my dog. Kinda wish he was though.  Image from the google.

Not my dog. Kinda wish he was though.
Image from the google.

2 thoughts on “Giving diabetes the Stink Eye

  1. Oh girl do I hear ya! Lows in the middle of “fun-adult-married-couple-time” (or engaged couples – if you will!) are THE. WORST. Happened to me just last week and is far more common occurrence than I like to admit. Hang in there, I’ve got your back 🙂

Leave a Reply

