Friday Fives: July 26, 2013

Five things that are annoying about traveling with diabetes:

1.  The amount of space diabetes stuff takes up in your bag – Pump supplies, snacks, batteries, extra test strips, CGM sensors, Insulin.  This is valuable clothes-packing real estate!

2.  The wonky blood sugar levels that always seem to happen with long car rides.

3.  Feeling guilty about not bringing copies of your Rxs like every good travelling diabetic should.

4.  Attempting to test your blood sugar in the car – why is it that we always hit a bump just as I’m about to prick my finger?

5.  Being out of your diabetes comfort zone.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

 

5 thoughts on “Friday Fives: July 26, 2013

  1. Call me bad, but I never bring my prescriptions. One time I was flying to Ireland and realized I hadn’t brought any spare insulin (oops) thankfully a kind CVS pharmacist provided me with an emergency bottle.

    If you join somewhere like TuDiabetes, it can sometimes come in handy if you’re within the US and run out. A lot of DOCers are very happy to share supplies.

    • Thanks! I have tried to sign up for tudiabetes but it always gives me an error for my picture?? (It’s G rated I promise!) maybe because I use chrome? I’ll have to try with IE.
      Anyway, glad I’m bit the only one!! 🙂

  2. Haha #4 got me as well…my hubby usually drives so whenever I try to test my blood sugar in the car, I feel like he ALWAYS hits a bump and it results in a nice argument between us haha

Leave a Reply

