I confess…

I’ve been cheating on the DOC with Reddit.  Does anyone else read the Diabetes sub-reddit?  I really enjoy it.  Check it out!

After my awesome A1c results last week I, of course, had to share with my Reddit friends.  One person asked me to list 10 changes I’ve made to make such an improvement in my A1c (I went from 7.9 in April to 6.8 now, however a year ago, I was 8.7!)  Of course the first thing I thought when this person asked was: “Blog Post!”  I love to make lists.  If you ask the hubs, I make them for him pretty frequently – 10 Reasons why I miss him while he’s away (there’s no one around to kill spiders!), 10 reasons why I am excited for the weekend (Sitting on my butt is better than working, duh!), etc.  The lists.  I make them.

So, without further ado, here are 10 changes I made to improve my A1c:

1. I switched to sugar-free flavored creamer. When I first got my CGM I noticed that I was spiking big time after breakfast, even if I was bolusing to cover the carbs. Not willing to give up coffee, I switched to SF creamer and that has helped a lot.

2. I also gave up cereal. I eat a bagel and cream cheese for breakfast most mornings. I should have more protein but so far I’m doing OK, blood sugar-wise.

3. Getting the CGM period. It’s been amazing to know what my BG is doing at any given moment. I’ve been very attentive to it and adjusting my insulin when needed to keep me in range.

4. Baby-stepping my high alert on the CGM down. It started at 200 and I’ve gradually gotten it down to 160.  I think if I started with a high alert of 160 right out of the gate, I would have gotten frustrated with all the beeping.  If Bob can do it, so can I.

5. Communicating with my CDE a lot! I’m lucky in that she is very receptive to emails. I send her my reports every couple of weeks and she makes small tweaks. She’s noticed patterns I never would have noticed before.  She has quickly become my diabetes care BFF.

6. Getting back on the pump, in general.  For me, it’s much easier to correct those pesky high numbers with a couple mini boluses or temp basal.  A little more difficult and time-consuming to do on MDI.

7. Pre-bolusing for meals. It takes me about 30 minutes to get ready in the morning and halfway through I bolus for breakfast. Since I eat the same thing every day, it makes it easy.  I also pre-bolus for lunch and dinner too and I think it really helps prevent those after meal spikes.

8. Using combo boluses when I eat high fat meals.  I will master you, pizza.  I will.

9. Trying (although not always successful) to cut back on processed foods.

10. Really paying attention to the 15-15-15 rule when I’m low. Although this doesn’t always work (especially over night!).

It honestly hasn’t been a huge lifestyle adjustment or anything. I’ve just made diabetes a priority.  I know that I feel better physically and emotionally when I’m in better control of my blood sugars.

4 thoughts on “I confess…

  1. A bagel for breakfast works for you?? Please, do share your secret! Bagels (and I’m referring to the authentic New York-area bagel-shop variety, not the frozen supermarket kind) will be the death of me, even when I do get the carbs right. I spike super-high, linger for a long time, and ultimately come crashing down.

    But if I can help improve myself by following 9 of your 10 tips, I’d call that progress. Good for you on the improvement!

Leave a Reply

