Up and down and all around.

Man, I am dizzy from the diabetes roller coaster I rode all weekend.  Good, steady D-Days were a thing I could only dream about.  This resulted in frustration, belly aches, annoyance, and a little more frustration.

The only culprit I can think of is that I had pizza and beer on Friday night.  Even after commenting on Katy’s Combo Bolus Victory that if I make it 8 hours without a spike after eating high fat foods, I’m usually in the clear, I woke up Saturday morning with a BG in the 250s.  My dexcom, it appears, was a liar.  And made me eat my words. Saturday

I yanked it Saturday morning since it was off by over 100 (and was almost 3 weeks old, so…) and as you can see above, I was up and down all day.

The roller coaster continued on Sunday:

Sunday

Up and down with a few good hours in the early morning while I was sleeping (and hadn’t eaten!).  Just looking at food caused a BG spike this weekend.

Finally the last day of the holiday weekend was pretty normal and much prettier:

Monday

Phew.  What a weekend.  I don’t know if it was the pizza or diabetes just being a jerk as diabetes often is but it seemed like a constant game of cat and mouse.  My pump was smoking from all the rage bolus and temp basal action.  I’m starting to think that maybe eating the naughty foods just isn’t worth it any more.  (Does this mean I’m an adult?)

And I am annoyed that according to my Dexcom, my average BG has gone up by 1 over the weekend.  Lame.

7 thoughts on “Up and down and all around.

  1. I had the exact same experience as you this Labor Day weekend. I also had to change my pod 3 days in a row because of a bad site followed by insulin that had turned sour. Even this morning I woke up higher than normal (135), only ate protein for breakfast and am currently sitting at 186. Hoping by lunch it’s back down. Thankfully, I packed a salad so I’m not adding insult to injury. When I ride high like this, I eat very low carb until I can get it back in range.

    • Yes, I’m planning a salad for lunch and had a lower carb breakfast!

      I wonder if old insulin was part of the problem too. I started a new vial Sunday night….hmmmm….

      The mystery of diabetes!!

Leave a Reply

