The beauty of choice.

I recently read a post on the diabetes sub-Reddit from someone claiming that their doctor said MDI was the best way to manage diabetes.  This lead to a fury of posts from people claiming “No, no, no, the pump is the best” or “I agree with you!  MDI is the way to go!”.  This got me thinking…

There is no BEST course of action for managing diabetes.  What may work for me (currently cyborging with a pump and CGM) may not work for you.  Heck, what works for me right now hasn’t worked for me in the past (remember that time I took almost a year-long pump vacation?  Yeah.) and may not work for me in the future (sometimes been a cyborg gets old).

The great thing is that we have options.  We, as PWD, have the beauty of choice (of course within the realm of our finances, insurance plans, etc.).  I may be going to a wedding or on a vacation and a pump may not work with my vacation plans or my outfit (cue my inner Cher from Clueless “Ummm, a pump doesn’t really go with this outfit, Daddy”). So, I can rock MDI for a bit.  I may get sick of the constant information about my blood sugar, so out comes the CGM.  I may be planning a pregnancy so I may want the tightest control possible right now and for me, that comes in the form of a CGM and a pager/camera.  In a world surrounded by blood sugar testing, carb counting, and insulin dosing, it’s nice to have just a little bit of freedom.

It’s important to remember that what works for you may not work for someone else.  And it’s hard to not say “Hey, have you tried what I’m doing?  Because it rocks.”  I know I’m guilty of this and I hope that when I suggest things to people who may be struggling with their management or are looking to shake things up, they know I’m not judging them for their choices in diabetes care.  I’m just offering friendly tips about what is currently working/not working for me and different things they can try.  Because change is good.  And choice is great.

 

Leave a Reply

