You can watch TV if you get bored.

So.  I guess I can go ahead and say that the husband and I are officially “trying” for a baby.  Being that I’m neurotic and can’t just see what happens, I’ve jumped into the deep end of the pool in this whole “making a baby” thing.  Dr. Google is my new best friend.

Stuff I’ve learned:

  • A “healthy” couple under the age of 35 usually gets pregnant within 5 months, but it can take up to a year.  So after a year, one should have a chit-chat with her doctor.  Am I considered healthy with this D thing?  When do I go crying to my lady doctor?
  • On any given cycle, there is a 20% chance of getting pregnant.  I graduated with my M.A. summa cum laude.  I can’t deal with this 20% success rate.  Overachiever.
  • Apparently having sex a lot ups your chances.  Duh.  But some women on a baby board that I may or may not post on are getting it on like 2 or 3 times/day.  Ummmm, I’m walking funny just thinking about it.
  • I get to track even more numbers!  I’ve started taking my basal temperature every morning so I can see some patterns with my cycle, figure out when I ovulate, all that fun stuff.  More stuff to keep track of.  Thank goodness for iPhone apps.
  • I can’t find any scientific information on the interwebs about blood sugars and ovulation, implantation, etc.  This annoys me to no end.
  • When you start trying, pregnant women are like squirrels.  They are everywhere.

The husband is a good sport with my neurotic self.  He’s learned some stuff too about the female body – interesting stuff and some gross stuff too.  But he’s super excited and I know he’ll be a great dad.

And luckily, we haven’t gotten to this point…yet…

8 thoughts on “You can watch TV if you get bored.

  1. Sarah wrote a great post you might like. Also, I’ve found that my BG rises during the progesterone phase and then falls once my period starts. http://sugabetic.me/studying-the-cycle/ Kindara is a great app for tracking fertility signs. I’d also recommend taking a NFP class through your local Catholic church (even if you aren’t Catholic). You’ll learn everything you need to know.

    • Thanks for the tips! I’m pretty good on how our innards work (took some online tutorials and stuff), but will definitely check out that blog post! :o) I’m using fertility friend to track my signs and all that fun stuff. I appreciate the heads up!

  2. So exciting! I used both the Clue app and the Ovuline app for tracking but what was most useful were the pee tests to check for your LH surge. Mine came much later in my cycle than I would have been able to predict with the apps, even after tracking for several months with a very regular period (~31 days). I’m 8 weeks pregnant thanks to those little strips!
    http://pregnantd.com/2013/11/03/go-time/

    Wishing you the best of luck! I know this part can be stressful and full of waiting and wondering and hoping but remember to enjoy it too!

  3. ha ha ha walking funny.

    i did the whole basal temperature thing (both times!). i graphed the temperatures out and could tell i was pregnant within the cycle from the temperature pattern. that shit is real. and a PERFECT hobby for a diabetic magna cum laude number tracker like yourself!

    FWIW i was instantly pregnant on demand with this system.

    can’t wait to read more! GOOD LUCK!

  4. Haha, @Katy – instantly pregnant on demand.

    Can you tell I’m catching up on blogs today? We aren’t trying yet so I haven’t done my due diligence on all of this temperature stuff, but I know you will rock it and am wishing you the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

