Talk to me Tuesday

Recently I’ve been in a bit of a blog slump.  I reached out to my Twitter BFF Doug to ask him for some post ideas.  He’s given me a bunch, one of which is to E-interview fellow bloggers, twitter peeps, or other PWD.   You lucky dog, Doug.  You’re my first victim.

Tell me the basics. What’s your name?  Where are you from? When were you diagnosed with the D?
Doug, Laramie, WY, DXd spring 1984

Care to share your diagnosis story?
Nothing interesting… lost weight, constant thirst leading to constant peeing. Actually drank way too much 7Up and Kool Aid to help with the thirst thing. My HS French teacher, Ms Urbanski (a T1 PWD herself) actually noticed the symptoms and told my sister that she suspected I had diabetes. I concurred since I had been researching my symptoms in the library… this was before Dr. Google and the internet. Off we went to family Dr, and boom… straight to the hospital we went.
Well done Ms. Urbanski!

If you could go back in time, what would you tell your newly diagnosed self?
I would tell him to not be lazy, testing and a good diet are easy compared to the complications that could (would?) arise. Oh, and stick to the XC skiing thing. Kris Freeman doesn’t have to be the first US skier with Type 1 to compete in the olympics 😉
(I have no idea who Kris Freeman is…)

What treatment methods do you use to manage your diabetes?  Why have you chosen this particular method?
MDI, using pens.  Researched on internet after a bad A1c and decided I needed change. My Dr. gave me samples, but no useful instructions, so I again used WWW to dial myself in. 3 months later, my a1c was 6.7.

Have you considered the pump? Are you on a CGM?
I considered an OmniPod… was denied by insurance because my Dr at that time was not a strong advocate for me. My new endo wants me on one, but I haven’t yet decided which to try for. Animas, Medtronic, t:slim or the new Snap. I desperately want a Dexcom!
I of course rambled on and on about how obsessed I am with my Dexcom, I’m sure Doug’s eyes were glazing over as he was reading my response.  Sorry, friend.

Some non-D stuff.  What are some of your hobbies?
Outdoor sports like cycling, XC skiing, kayaking.

In the past year, what’s been your greatest achievement? D-related or not!
Proud daddy to my 6 month old daughter, Maggie.

Who inspires you?
Lately it has been Maggie. I have done so much to be sure I get to see her grow up.

Like what?  How has your attitude towards your diabetes management changed since you’ve become a father?
Maggie deserves to have a dad for as long as she can. One she can look to for advice, or someone to walk her down the aisle in the VERY DISTANT FUTURE. I need to be able to give her those things, and without proper management, who knows if I would?

What makes you happiest and saddest?
Happiest – Hanging out with my family, and my sweet dog Kona (Although I guess we all consider her family).
Saddest – Thinking of the future and what my daughter might have to deal with health wise or politically in this country and the World.
😦

What’s been your best vacation?
I’ve lived in Jackson Hole and Crested Butte… better than any vacation.

What’s your favorite book or movie?
Either “The Art of Racing in the Rain” or “Teewinot: A Year in the Teton Range”.
I haven’t read either.  I obviously need a kindle to remedy this situation.  <–subtle hint to the husband.

What is something people would be surprised to know about you?
A friend of mine and I got caught in a blizzard in the mountains of Colorado… spent the night out without shelter. She died of hypothermia. I was rescued, taken to a hospital where it was decided they would amputate my frostbitten toes. I signed out of the ER against medical advice, and took my still attached toes with me.
Whoa.

Back to diabetes.  What have you learned about yourself since being diagnosed?
If I actually try, I can achieve great things… but I do get quite lazy sometimes.
Don’t we all?

What was your scariest Diabetes moment? What is the scariest thing about living with diabetes?
Scariest D moment… during the blizzard, I was out in the forest for over 24 hours without insulin, or food. So when I was finally rescued and taken to a hospital (2 actually), I asked for insulin and some food. The nurse asked why, I told her I was Type 1. She scurried off and came back with the doctor that said that because of the D, he had scheduled an OR to remove my toes. I begged and pleaded to play the “Let’s wait and see game”. He said no. So I requested to leave.
GOOD FOR YOU!
Scariest thing about living with it is definitely the uncertainty of it. I can eat the same things day after day, same dosing, same activity level, but D does what it wants to do. I can go low (scary in itself), skyrocket to the stratosphere or just cruise a mellow sea of awesome. Just never know. I’m sure PWDs are some of the best problem solvers because of this.
And we’re really good at math.

What has been your best diabetes moment?
My best… or at least one of my favorites came days after DX, when my vision cleared up to a perfect 20/20 again. I was a 14 yr old boy who had worn glasses for a few years… I needed ( OK… wanted) a girlfriend and having glasses was not helping. Voila… no need for glasses again. I was less than thrilled when my vision changed back before I got a GF.

What is your personal diabetes motto/attitude towards it?
“Weebles wobble but they won’t fall down” is one. But lately it’s been more like “You sonuvabitch… nice try”
I like that!

Do you have a blog?
I started a blog this past spring, but baby, dog and über-busy wife take all my time. I actually go to my full-time job to rest.

How do you think being part of the diabetes online community has affected how you take care of yourself and your diabetes? How has it been beneficial/detrimental to you?
The greatest benefit of the DOC is getting real world advice on items such as CGMs or pumps. Also, it’s a great outlet for D related rants. I honestly can’t think of any negatives.
Except maybe when I talk about my special lady time on the interwebs?
Why oh why do you have to go and do things like that?? The trauma…
HAHAHAHAHAHA

Why do you follow my blog?  Any tips or suggestions or specific topics you’d like to see me write about?
Doug said something about trying to teach me how to drink better beer.  Something like that.

Other than insulin, how else do you keep your diabetes in control?
To manage I use a couple apps on my phone… “D Sharp” for BG logging and dosing based on carb count. The other is Sanofi’s “Go Meals” which I use to carb count and log my meals. I also walk a couple of miles daily, bike commute to work everyday regardless of weather (and being at 7200′ in Wyoming, I get lots of weather).
No wonder you go to work to rest!

Any tips/hints to other PWD?
Just stay on top of things the best you can. No one is perfect. I see all of the DOC superstars post about BGs in the 200s, 300s… but we can only take it in stride and keep swimming.
Or keep bolusing.

What would you say to someone who is newly diagnosed?
We’re here for ya. Ask as many questions as you need. There are no stupid questions… well there are a couple, but we have perfected the nod and smile.
*Nodding and Smiling*

What would you say to the general public about diabetes?
If you feel you must judge us, do it silently and to yourself. If you tell us we should have exercised more or whatever the newest Reverse Diabetes trick is… we might snap and get violent. You don’t want me to use a lancet on you… do you??
Ouch.

If you’re interested in being E-interviewed, email me at a1conceive@gmail.com or send me a DM on twitter!  I’d love to make this a regular thing!

3 thoughts on “Talk to me Tuesday

Leave a comment