Hello, yeah it’s been a while. Not much, how ’bout you?

Hello, DOC!  I’ve missed you!  I know it’s been a while since you’ve heard from me.  My excuses/reasons for not blogging are kind of lame – busy at work, need a break from focusing on the D, busy getting busy, holidays, etc., etc.  I miss blogging, I just haven’t had the motivation to make it a priority right now.  But, I have some down time at work and thought I’d post an update on life.

Update #1.  Not pregnant.  Still trying to get a baby up in there, but no luck so far.  Not sweating it, yet, but I gotta say, it can be frustrating to do everything “right” and not get the results you want.  Kind of like how our blood sugars can behave one way one day and another way the next, despite doing the same thing.  I keep reminding myself that even with “perfectly timed” sex a healthy couple has a 20% chance of conceiving any given month.  Hopefully it’ll happen soon!

Update #2.  Holidays were not as hard with new robot parts.  Last Christmas I was still on MDIs, CGM-less, and felt like crap.  Between traveling 7+ hours to get to our hometown, eating dinner around 10pm on Christmas eve, and not having handy gadgets, I was nauseous most of the holiday last year.  This year was much better with my CGM and pump.  It was easier to make adjustments and I’m happy to say that I felt good and enjoyed myself!

Update #3.  Endo-conundrum.  I received a letter a few months ago that my beloved endo is reducing her hours and therefore will only be in the clinic on Thursdays.  Commence Panic.  How is this going to work?  Especially when I’m pregnant and have many more appointments?  After chatting with a few other patients of her’s I decided to see how it goes at my next appointment with the nurse practitioner before deciding if I wanted to change practices or stick with my current doc, despite her limited availability.  I had heard that the NP isn’t the greatest and rubs many people the wrong way, but I liked her.  So, for now, I’ve decided to stay with my current practice.  Hopefully when I do get pregnant, I will still receive excellent care.  If not, I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Update #4.  A1c!!! My A1c has dropped from 6.8 to 6.7.  Woohoo!  I’m happy I stayed under 7.0.  My next goal is 6.5!

Update #5.  I have an annoying as eff coworker.  My cubicle neighbor has serious issues with his bodily functions.  He’s constantly snorting, snarfling, neighing like a horse, talking to himself, etc.  He drives me slightly insane.  There is going to be a day when I have the perfect storm of low blood sugar, PMS, and am having a shitty day where I go apeshit on him.  Thank goodness for headphones, but damn, he bugs.  Other than him, I love my job (Except for the whole keeping me away from the DOC thing).

Have a great week, everyone!

13 thoughts on “Hello, yeah it’s been a while. Not much, how ’bout you?

  1. Congrats on the A1c! My last one was 6.8 as well in October, but with the holidays I’m convinced I’m going to be back over 7.0 when I get tested this week 😦 sucks because I’d like to start “trying” soon

  2. Hmmmm.. I was so sure you hadn’t been writing because you were pregnant and didn’t want to spill the beans to the world too soon. Bummmer, I’m sorry but I feel ya. It’s really hard! I don’t know how anyone “accidently” gets pregnant!

    Glad you had an easier holiday season this year. Mechanical parts do help. And awesome that the holidays didn’t screw with your A1C! Good job!

    Annoying cowerkers.. yeah I feel ya there too. Maybe not the same way, kinda wished I was my own boss and had my own office. But it’s a job right? I bet with all the bodily noises you hear durring the day you have some stories for hubs at night.

    I’m glad to see you post again and you haven’t dropped off the face of the planet! I’ve missed reading your posts. 🙂

  3. OK, I’m superstitious as all get-out, and when we were working on the baby-making, I SWEAR the thing that ended up helping me get pregnant was Goji juice. Just 1 little cap-full every morning, before you eat or drink anything else. (It had like, less than 5 carbs, so I rarely even bolused for it.) My acupuncturist had recommended it for a while, and I never tried it until the last IVF cycle where I had given up all hope and then VOILA! That was the time we got pregnant. I’m just sayin’, it can’t hurt! 🙂

  4. #1: Patience, my friend. It’s too soon to get concerned, but naturally the anticipation must be huge.
    #2: Great news, and really encouraging! These are big steps in just one year, and the benefits (to you, not every T1D) are already plainly obvious.
    #3: I say you’re doing the right thing. Don’t assume something will become a problem unless and until it does. Good luck!
    #4: Congrats on the improvement!
    #5: I think I’ve worked with that guy. Regrettably, two jobs later, I found myself working with him again… 😦

  5. Hahaha, neighs like a horse. I’m dying. So happy that the holiday season was easier. I guess I didn’t realize you had just accumulated all of these robot parts within the last year! As Scott said, so happy they’re working for you.

    Can’t wait to catch up tonight! Let’s bolus for some beers!

Leave a comment